This award is intended for postdoctoral fellows holding appointments in the Basic Sciences and clinical Departments of the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine. Between 1990 and 1995, two awards were made each year, one for clinical and the other for basic science research. The awrads were supported by the Dean of the School of Medicine. In 1996 the scope of these postdoctoral awards was greatly expanded, and substantial and generous additional support has been provided by the Johns Hopkins Medical and Surgical Society. These awards have been named in honor of distinguished former members of the medical faculty.