This award is intended for postdoctoral fellows holding appointments in the Basic Sciences and Clinical Departments of the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine. Dr. Albert Lester Lehninger (1917 – 1986) was the Delamar Professor and Director of the Department of Physiological Chemistry.  Dr. Lehninger is widely regarded as a pioneer in the field of bioenergetics.